In this article:

Contents Search
   

 

Saved Views

Saved views in Kentik Detect are covered in the following topics:

 

 
 top

About Saved Views

A saved view is a collection of Data Explorer settings, including the settings of the sidebar panes (see Portal Sidebars). Views are saved with the Save View button at the top of the chart display area (see Explorer Chart Display) and represent the state of Data Explorer at the time that the button is clicked. Saving the view allows you to reapply all of the settings at a later time.

When a saved view is loaded into Data Explorer, the view’s settings are applied to the panes of the sidebar and the contents (e.g. graph and table) of the display area are automatically updated. Saved views are managed on the Saved Views page. To open the Saved Views page, choose Data Explorer » Saved Views from the Kentik Detect navbar.

 

Saved View Visibility

Saved View visibility determines which users can access to a given saved view:

  • My Views: Views that you save only for your own personal use. No one else has access.
  • Company: Views saved by any user in your organization. All users in your organization have access.

 

 
 top

Saved Views Page

The Saved Views page, which is the primary interface for managing saved views, is covered in the following topics:

 

 
 top  |  section

Saved Views UI

The Saved Views page includes the following UI elements:

  • Filter field: Filters the Saved View List to show only views that contain the entered text in one of their fields (e.g. name).
  • Show selector: A drop-down menu from which you can narrow, by visibility (see Saved View Visibility), the saved views shown in the Saved View List:
    - All: All saved views.
    - My Views: Personal saved views only.
    - Company: Company saved views only.
  • Saved Views List: A collection of tiles that each represent a saved view (see Saved Views List).

 

 
 top  |  section

Saved Views List

The main area of the Saved Views page displays a set of tiles that each corresponds to an individual saved view. Each tile includes the following information and actions:

  • Name: At upper left, the name given to the view when it was created or last edited. Click on the name to open Data Explorer and load the view.
  • Options: A drop-down menu of actions that you can perform on the saved view:
    - Edit: Opens the Edit Saved View dialog for the saved view (see Saved View Dialogs).
    - Duplicate: Copies the saved view and adds it as a new tile in the Saved View List with “Copy” appended to the name.
    - Share: Opens a Share View dialog with a link to the saved view shown in a text field. To share the link with another registered user within your organization, click the Copy to Clipboard button, then paste the link into a message or email.
    - View SQL: Opens Kentik Detect’s Query Editor populated with the view’s underlying SQL.
    - Remove: Opens a confirming dialog that allows you to remove the saved view from the Kentik portal. Click Remove to delete the saved view or Cancel to cancel the delete operation. If you choose to delete the saved view, it will be removed from the table and an alert will appear to confirm that the deletion was successful.
  • Description: Below the name, the description added to the view when it was created or last edited.
  • Visibility: At bottom left, the visibility type of the view, either My View or Company (see Saved View Visibility).
  • Last updated: The date (UTC) of the most recent change to the saved view.
  • Owner: The email address of the person who saved the view.

 

 
 top

Saved View Dialogs

Saved views are managed with the Add Saved View and Edit Saved View dialogs, which are covered in the following topics:

 

 
 top  |  section

Saved View Dialogs UI

The Add Saved View and Edit Saved View dialogs share the same layout and the following common UI elements:

  • Close button: Click the X in the upper right corner to close the dialog. All elements will be restored to their values at the time the dialog was opened.
  • Remove button (Edit Saved View dialog only): Remove the Saved View from your organization’s collection of Kentik-registered Saved Views. This button is only present if the Saved View being edited was manually added.
  • Cancel button: Cancel the add Saved View or edit Saved View operation and exit the dialog. All elements will be restored to their values at the time the dialog was opened.
  • Add Saved View button (Add Saved View dialog only): Save settings for the new Saved View and exit the dialog.
  • Save button (Edit Saved View dialog only): Save changes to Saved View settings and exit the dialog.

 

 
 top  |  section

Saved View Field Definitions

The properties of a saved view are set with the fields of the Add Saved View dialog when a view is first saved (see Saving a View), and may be subsequently edited in the Edit Saved View dialog (see Editing a View). The properties are described in the following table:

Field Type Description
View Name Field Required: A user-specified descriptive name for the view.
Description Field Optional: Any text added by the user to explain the characteristics and utility of the view.
Note: The more informative your description is, the easier it will be for team members to determine how the view might be useful.
Share With Drop-down menu Required: One of the following, which determines which collection the view is part of in the Saved View List:
- Other users in my Company: Company collection; view will be available company wide.
- Only me: My Views collection; view will available only to you.

 

 
 top

Saving a View

To save the current Data Explorer settings as a new saved view:

  1. At the top of the Data Explorer display area (see Chart Display UI) click the Save View button.
    Note: The Save View button is only available when current settings have been applied (Run Query button).
  2. In the resulting Add Saved View dialog (see Saved View Dialogs), specify the properties of the view using the fields described in Saved View Field Definitions.
  3. Click the Add Saved View button to save the new view and return to Data Explorer. A notice will appear indicating that the view has been saved, and the title bar of the graph in Data Explorer will now include a “Saved View” label.

 

 
 top

Loading a View

Views can be loaded into Data Explorer from the Saved Views List. When loaded, the view’s settings will be applied to the panes of the sidebar and the contents (e.g. graph) of the display area will be automatically updated.

To load a view:

  1. From the Data Explorer menu of the main portal navbar, choose Saved Views to open the Saved Views Page.
  2. If needed, use the selector in the page’s title bar (see Saved Views UI) to choose which collection of views will be displayed in the Saved Views List: All, My Views, or Company.
  3. In the list, click the title at the upper left of the card representing the view that you want to load. The view will open in Data Explorer.

 

 
 top

Editing a View

Either a view itself (e.g. query settings in the sidebar) or the properties of that view (e.g. description) can be edited.

 

Edit View Query

To edit a view’s query and display settings:

  1. With the view open in Data Explorer, make changes to sidebar or display settings.
  2. At the top of the sidebar, click the Run Query Button to apply the changed settings to the displayed graph and table.
  3. At the top of the display area, click the Save Changes button. A notification will confirm that the changes have been saved.

 

Edit View Properties

To edit a view’s properties (name, description, or sharing settings):

  1. From the Data Explorer menu of the main portal navbar, choose Saved Views to open the Saved Views Page.
  2. If needed, use the selector in the page’s title bar (see Saved Views UI) to choose which collection of views will be displayed in the Saved Views List: All, My Views, or Company.
  3. Click the Options menu (upper right) on the card of the view that you want to edit, then choose Edit.
  4. In the resulting Edit Saved View dialog, edit the properties of the view (see Saved View Field Definitions).
  5. Click the Save button to save the edited view and return to the Saved Views page.